WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was fortunate enough to get a front row seat at last weekend's airshow at Ellington Field here in Houston. Weather was perfect. Had my Canon 40D and 70-200mm f/4L IS lens with me. Really wished I had rented a 100-400mm lens, as 200mm is not much reach. I had to do a lot of cropping in post in order to get some of the planes to be large enough on screen.

The only bummer was that the Blue Angles went on late, and I had to leave before they went on.

Here's a link to the pictures. Enjoy!

http://golfnut.smugmug.com/Miscella...ouston-Airshow/10212713_x7rjx#703866628_PKNno

·
Banned
5,317 Posts
I'm no expert and have no idea about half of what you're talking about, but to my un-trained eye, these are awesome and outstanding in every way!

Love the ones that show the WW II props together with the modern jets!

Do you mind if I use a few for my laptop backgrounds?

Thank you for taking the time to share thses!

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm no expert and have no idea about half of what you're talking about, but to my un-trained eye, these are awesome and outstanding in every way!

Love the ones that show the WW II props together with the modern jets!

Do you mind if I use a few for my laptop backgrounds?

Thank you for taking the time to share thses!
Thanks for the kind words. Feel free to right-click and save until your heart's content!

·
Registered
80 Posts
Great shots, sadly I came to the same conclusion - you need at least 300mm on a crop sensor for great "in flight" shots. I got some great sharp images from my local airshow shot on my 200mm, sadly they're nowhere near large enough (after cropping) for a decent size print.... http://www.flickr.com/photos/macrobubbles/sets/72157622341845133/

Best wishes

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·