WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
5600 models compared:DW5600-G5600-GW5600-GW-M5600

Hi guys,

Well, since some of you have suggested (and pursuaded me) to buy a 5600 model, I've been trying to figure out what the differences are between the DW-5600, G-5600 and GW-5600.
There is plenty of information on these in loads of different posts, but since I'm new to g-shocks I thought it might be handy to summarize a few things.

Please correct me if you think that the information is not right, or if I've missed some important feature's!

According to information I found in several posts, these are some of the differences that are mentioned most often:

DW-5600: (module 1545 )
PRO's: Low cost. Displays both day and date at the same time. El lighting (DW-5600E only). Dual time ( vintage DW-5600C only).
CON's: Does not have Tough Solar technology. Does not have waveceptor technology. The countdown timer can be set only in one direction: up +. Does not have world time. Has smaller digits than the G-5600 and GW-5600.

G-5600:(module 2597)
PRO's: Has Tough Solar technology. Accepts strap adaptors. Has a large countdown timer and stopwatch ( both 100 Hrs). Displays both day and date at the same time. The countdown timer can be set by scrolling up + or down -. Current time remains visible in all modes except stopwatch. Dual time. Auto EL. Has large digits.
CON's: Does not have waveceptor technology. Is slightly smaller, thinner and lighter than the GW or DW.

GW-5600: (module 2924)
PRO's: Has Tough Solar technology. Has waveceptor technology (Us and Japan only). Shows world time in 30 cities. Auto EL. Full auto calender. Large digits.
CON's: Has a short countdown timer (60 minutes) and stopwatch (24 Hrs). Does not show day and date at the same time. Current time is not visible in other modes.

UPDATE: GW-M5600 (module 3063)