WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

60th Anniversary SBGP 015 Review (Personal Watch History Included)

3K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  mangoonastick 
#1 ·
My third GS since 2005, and my first acquisition since the Tudor BB Heritage Blue two years ago.

I have worn the GS Spring Drive Diver in Titanium as my daily wearer for the last two years- which I like except for the giant stamped metal clasp that takes up half of the underside of my wrist. I was looking for something slightly smaller that was more dressy.

Went to see Rob at Topper's who I have been working with for 9 years. I had a 2005 Japan domestic-only quartz GS that was given to me as a gift from a Japanese company when I finished my first large biotech deal. So I was an early fan of the brand and have been commuting to Japan since 2003 so I have been familiar with them before they came to the US and Europe.

The 2005 watch is wonderful with a great bracelet-but no lume. I look at my watches more in the middle of the night than during the day so I wasn't wearing it much. The transaction for the SBGP 015 involved the 2005 model, and a German pilot chronograph, that also has some unique advantages, but I wasn't wearing..

Ok on to the watch....This REALLY pops in person. The whole thing is how the polished markers, and the brushed and polished hands sparkle in contrast to the deep blue sunburst dial and the unique blue ceramic bezel. I wanted something that didn't have a diving bezel. It's nearly a $4000 quartz watch you might say- but easily exceeds the fit and finishing of my past Datejust.