WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Dear forum members~

I'm a newbie and English is not my mother tongue, so pardon my mistakes if any.

I recently bought a Seiko 7s36b watch SNZH57, which shows +42 sec/day :-( and needs to be regulated.

While I was staring at the regulator bar and several internet pics, I realized that 7s36b's regulator is

different from that of 7s26a or 7s36a.

7s26a / 7s36a
Watch Pocket watch Fashion accessory Analog watch Gear

7s36b
Data storage device Electronics Close-up Hard disk drive Technology

The hair spring guide on 7s36b regulator seems quite narrow as shown in the following (net-borrowed) magnified pics,

Product Fashion accessory Auto part Wheel Metal

Organism Metal

Water Metal Glass Macro photography

I was trying to regulate my watch myself, but began to worry.

Since it seems that 7s36b's regulator is much more sensitive(?) than 7s26a's traditional one,

a movement of regulator by tiny hair width could be amplified to result in minutes of change in timekeeping?

Worse than good old 7s26?

I thought 7s26b/7s36b are "improved" versions of 7s26a/7s26a having better accuracy set by Seiko factory QC.

If regulating of these "b" versions are more difficult than "a" versions, how's that possible? :-s

Anyhow, I'm about to regulate this "improved" 7s36b watch myself. :think:

Advices and experiences from any of you Gurus would be highly appreciated. ;-)

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,

golfer87

·
Registered
107 Posts
I recently broomed up my Sumo's 6R15.

All I know is a small movement makes a big change.

I recommend using a dial caliper to make small adjustments and creep up on it.

It took me quite a few tries. I kept going either side of perfect. It's now running +2.5 seconds per day average for the last week. I'm happy with that.

·
Registered
1,307 Posts