WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I picked up a Yobokies SKX007 mod a while back, and specifically asked for the stock chapter ring. Now that I look at it though, it just seems like it's way too busy for the watch and very slightly misaligned with the dial near the 6 o'clock position.

I'm considering either, A) sterilizing the chapter ring by sanding it or painting it, or B) replacing the chapter ring with an aluminum chapter ring from either 10watches.com or Yobokies. I think I'm going to attempt the mod myself (fyi, total newbie with watch mods and no watch tools on hand yet), but based on the steps laid out in the DIY guide to replacing the crystal, the process seems pretty daunting. The idea of putting pressure on a snugly fit crystal to pop it out and then back in after the chapter ring's been replaced seems VERY scary. I've seen a bunch of horror stories on these forums already of people breaking their chapter rings or crystals doing that... :-s Part of me also wonders if it's even worth the risk of tinkering with the innards. The watch is running great at the moment (+2sec a day), and there are no gripes with it besides the chapter ring.

For those that have replaced the chapter ring on an SKX before, do you have any recommendations/words of wisdom? If I do pull this off without a hitch, I may wind up being a pretty regular Seiko modder. Appreciate any info :thanks

Reactions: milligan

·
Registered
5,763 Posts
I have not modding anything like this before, but have seen it done a lot. Your mod looks good, but I do agree with you that it's a touch on the busy side. An all aluminum chap ring would look excellent imo. If it were me I would just get a new one and not mod the present one. Keep us posted :)

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Update: