WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I decided about a week or two ago that A.) I have too many watches, B.) I want a new watch and C.) to sell all my watches.

This led me down an interesting path, from photographing all of them, posting all of them (popular auction site) and now I'm in this weird limbo while I watch the auctions of watches I've owned for up to 7+ years get sold. In the end I don't tie memories to watches, so I'm not emotionally attached to any of them in that regard, but some I've had for so long they do feel like family at times and it's a collection I'm proud of.

What I am stoked about is I play to use 1/3 of the proceeds to pay off some random bills and use 2/3 of the proceeds to buy a new watch or two.

So has anyone else done this or thought of it?

-Troy

·
Premium Member
7,681 Posts
I'm new to this, but since a lot of the fun is getting new stuff, I figured I'd be doing something like this every few years if I keep up with it... although selling ALL of them seems like it might be hard, I could definitely see myself getting rid of all but 1 or 2.

·
Registered
4,248 Posts
I kind of do tie some memories and get attached to a few watches. In particular my Explorer 2 which is my second time zone travel watch. In time clothes, shoes and other material things wear out. My watch will be around for a very long time. My Explorer 2 has been to some amazing places with me and it helps me remember some great memories of places I been around the world. It's something I can pass on to my family one day with the stories and places I been that go along with it. So no, I couldn't do it. Some watches are worth more then the sum of its parts to me.

·
Registered
1,821 Posts
I decided about a week or two ago that A.) I have too many watches, B.) I want a new watch and C.) to sell all my watches.