WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sometimes my wife's liquidation gets some "interesting" watches. This one is a customer return. It looks like the customer returned it because it leaked. But he didn't return it right away so it could be repaired. Instead he left it to rust completely before returning it. :-|

So a great watch is dead... :-(

...and I have an opportunity to build up my own custom watch.I going to see if I can strip this down, clean out the rust, and install a new movement, dial and hands.

That will be a challenge, I've never worked on a watch before. :-!

Advice welcome.
Where do I start?
What kind of movement fits this Tissor Seastar 1000 case?
Where to find a choice of dials and hands?

·
Banned
21,244 Posts
Sorry to post in a Forum I just lurk in, but is there a possibility the watch has been wrongly manufactured?
What I wonder is, how come it leaked? You do a wonderful job and resurrect this watch, and then it gets waterfilled in the first shower.....

·
Registered
1,246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
I don't know why it leaked. Certainly a screw in caseback is a better design. But this model certainly has lots of happy owners in the forum.

Maybe the owner didn't understand the screw down crown. Maybe it wasn't closed. I have a friend that broke a crown off by prying it out. He had never seen a screw down crown and thought it was just stuck in there.

I might test the water resistance of the case alone by swimming with it before I install a replacement movement. But after all it is done I might not swim with it anyway. If it doesn't work out I've got half a dozen good divers (including a nice blue Seastar 1000) so I won't need to take it in the water.

·
Registered
1,246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Step 2: Remove the movement.

I found an article online that showed me where to find the stem release button. The rest was easy.