WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Im new to WUS but am already finding myself spending more and more time here, currently just browsing the forums and soaking up all the information. It seems that many of you have years of obsession behind you and a huge wealth of knowledge.

I just bought my first 'good' watch, a Tag Carrera Calibre 6 (I know this is like a toy compared to some of the pieces available, however to me it is still my avenue into this world and something I love), it has wet my appetite to beautiful movements and assemblies.

I realise that what I am asking spreads across many areas of WUS, each area of course with something specific to offer...

The point of this topic within this forum section:

I am a final year Design student at Northumbria University, sitting on a computer using CAD takes up a tiny amount of time, much of it is hands on prototyping and manufacture of objects.

Since my obsession of timepieces is increasing I am finding myself more and more drawn to making a prototype timepiece of some form.

What I'm asking

I want to make a pocket watch, stop watch or compass, for now I am content with not settling on a final idea. I want it to look very classic, no modern, tacky fonts or colours, it will be very classic hopefully steeped in influences of its predecessors.

I am wanting to do a lot of research into past examples, their manufacture, how they are made, the materials they are made from, why this is.

Since I found my grandfathers old stopwatch in a drawer and found myself appreciating it just as a beautiful object, I would love to try and recreate a small part of that experience.