WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 142 Posts

·
Registered
753 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am relatively new to collecting and I really don't understand why in house movements are such a big deal. Greater cost at entry, and a greater cost at time of service. From reading through many past threads on this discussion it seems as though the practice of, and need to develop in house movements has become more common in recent years. Is this due to increased competition in the industry? Is it important to members and collectors because its a sign of brand longevity since ETA announced the cutbacks?

·
Banned
7,819 Posts
It's so the manufacturer doesn't rely on the movement makers, it detaches them from ETA, puts them in a different class and so commands a much higher price - partly because they can and partly because it costs more to re-invent the wheel.

They generally (always) look AWESOME though because they aren't mass produced.

·
Registered
753 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's so the manufacturer doesn't rely on the movement makers, it detaches them from ETA, puts them in a different class and so commands a much higher price - partly because they can and partly because it costs more to re-invent the wheel.

They generally (always) look AWESOME though because they aren't mass produced.
Do you think it has sparked so to speak as a demand issue since ETA is wanting to limit the sale of movements to manufactures outside Swatch? Because of this it seems to have lead to a horological arms race. Would this still be happening if they weren't planning to limit sales of movements?

·
Banned
7,819 Posts
No there are alternatives to the ETA's of this world, in house are a different breed.

It costs a lot to develop a movement from scratch , the manufacturer has to be sure he's gonna recoup that R&D in quantity or price per unit.
If they haven't got the built up rep in the watch world, they aren't gonna achieve either.