WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3,135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. So recently I got a parnis GMT Master II homage. I got it with the intention to mod it, although I'm a bit nervous since I've never modded a watch before, plus it is my most expensive watch oddly. I have nicer watches, but got better deals I suppose. Anyway, I want to change the hands to sword hands, and paint the GMT hand, and was wondering if anyone could give me advice on the best way to go about this. I've done a fair bit of reading and it seems before removing the hands I should have them all at 12 just before the date changes, the problem is the watch uses a DG3804 movement and the hacking is iffy, sometimes it does hack, sometimes it doesn't, other times, it does but if I touch the crown at all the second hand starts again. So how would I go about removing the seconds hand? Wait til the watch runs down and remove it from there? Can I still remove it the whole hand stack at once? Also for painting the GMT hand, its currently green, but I want to paint it blue, what paint can/should I use? I've read about using various model paints, also should I prep the hand in any way or can I just paint over it? Below is a picture of the watch in question.

·
Registered
1,497 Posts
The second half of this video shows you how to manually "let down" the mainspring of a mechanical wristwatch. Be gentle!
How I let down a mainspring of a pocket watch and wrist watch - YouTube

In the past year, I've used Testor's model paint on second hands, and they have lasted.

As for removing the hands, I'll let a more expert member answer in more detail. For me, I've removed them non-simultaneously on other watches, and have been able to reinstall them fine.

When you do reinstall the hands be mindful about when you want the date to change. That will affect the direction you install the hour hand. My first time, I totally forgot about this, and my date was changing mid-day.