WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
The Amphibias have a really big variety on casebacks appart from the basic one from Vostok (Antarticka, Gagarin, Scuba Dude, Neptune, Orca, etc) and several aftermarket ones. The same doesn't happen with handwinding Komandirskies. Modern ones seems to have only the double headed eagle caseback. Vintage dirskies usually have either a plain caseback or the ray pattern caseback. Anyone knows about aftermarket casebacks for the modern handwinding Komandirskies? A bit of variety for the modern ones could be nice. I mean Komandirskie series 21, 43, 53 and 81.

·
Registered
1,288 Posts
I am not an expert on all the different case backs but here is one you are probably not aware of.
It is the only exhibition case back for Komanderskies I know of.
Remember though you decrease the water resistance of the watch. Do not go swimming or diving with this case back.
I have not ever tested water resistance but it is OK in the rain.

Domed Underlayed, Sternkreuz U

Attachments

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. I am not a fan of exhibition casebacks. However the 2414A looks ok with the caseback unlike most of the automatics I have with it.

·
Premium Member
381 Posts
I am not an expert on all the different case backs but here is one you are probably not aware of.
It is the only exhibition case back for Komanderskies I know of.
Remember though you decrease the water resistance of the watch. Do not go swimming or diving with this case back.
I have not ever tested water resistance but it is OK in the rain.

Domed Underlayed, Sternkreuz U
Awesome, I just ordered one to try it.

If the gasket was in place why would it be any less waterproof than the original ?

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
If the gasket was in place why would it be any less waterproof than the original ?
It is glass and therefore unable to withstand the same water pressure as the steel caseback.