WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

What's the plan?

• Omega Speedmaster Professional 3572.50

Votes: 5 35.7%
  • D. Dornbluth & Sohn

Votes: 1 7.1%
  • Glashutte Original (senator observer, panoreserve, etc.?)

Votes: 6 42.9%
  • Save up for that Lange </3

Votes: 2 14.3%
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all! I'll try to make this as terse as possible.

In short, I've been saving up really, really, really hard (I'm a college student, so I'm broke as-hell). However, after all of this saving, asking for loans (yup, on top of tuition), etc., I think I'll have around $5K-$7K to spend on a watch.

In my signature, you can see that I've been trying to get my hands on a Speedy Pro. I've negotiated something with someone, and they'll pass onto me a 3572.50 for around the $3K range. PROBLEM IS..

I've been developing a really big, phat crush on German watches. I don't think it's one of those "bugs" either. My eyes were and have been glued on pretty much any German watch I've set my eyes upon. First, it was a few Lange's at ADs; now, GO, D Dornbluth & Sohn, and so on have gotten my attention too. I absolutely love the 3/4 plate, German silver (okay, maybe only Lange has this), hand-engraved balance cock!!!, big dates, and simply the overall aesthetic of German watches. It's "my taste." Of course, I respect Lange for its "truer" history - to be honest, the idea that GO is essentially "ripping off" Lange is a bit off-putting for me (but oh gawd, do their watches also look pretty).

Now, here's where you can help!

What should I do? There's a poll up there, but please feel free to chime in <3

In short, with my collection right now (as you can see in my signature), what should I do?

Thank you, WUS! I've really enjoyed browsing through these forums :)

·
Registered
9,340 Posts