WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a recently graduated grad student (read: poor!) who is going to Berlin for a conference in June. Very excited!!! I know there are many good German watches out there, but any good "starter" and relatively inexpensive watches I can buy in Germany while I am there in Berlin? Im looking at around $200

·
Registered
8,064 Posts
There are many great German watch brands from Lange and Glashutte Original at high-end to Nomos, Sinn and Stowa at luxury end. Germany is also home of many amazing micro-brands and interesting schools of design. Check out watchbuys.com for a nice sampling of various german watch-makers.

That said, $200 is a very touch price-point for a decent German watch. At that price you are better off w a Seiko or an Orient, which deliver good automatics at affordable price.

If you really have your mind set on a German brand, only ones I can think of that go this low are Junkers and Graf Zeppelin. These have some interesting, but largely derivative designs. Automatics would probably require $300+, but a quartz can be had at $200-250 range. Check out Amazon to get a sense of some Junkers and Graf Zepelin offerings. Here are some of their pieces that are closer to $200: (note - these are both quartz, w swiss quartz movt, but "made in Germany" label)

junkers-quartz.jpg graf-quartz.jpg

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks @EnderW, that Junkers is so beautiful! Can't wait to see it in person :)

I think i'll really save up a lot before I head to Germany to see if I can buy the automatic version of this...drool....beautiful. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
Only with a very high Chinese or Japanese content.

e.g. Aristo, Tauchmeister, etc.
You can save up, or go with the Aristo, for example. It's still a decent watch. Or maybe a Laco Flieger will do the trick.