1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,113 Posts
Yeah, what he said. I need a fix... :-!

·
WatchUSeek Administrator
39,171 Posts
Our POC went on vacation and will not be back until next month. Before she went she told me Lothar Schmidt liked our inputs and decided to release a similar watch in 2010 and offered us the first 50. I'm not real happy with this as I wanted something special for us WUS members. The up side is it will most certainly bring the cost of production (and hopefully purchase) down a little. I will see if they can make the first 50 unique from the normal run once our POC returns. I'll let you guys know when I have something concrete.

·
Banned
21,244 Posts
2010? That is a disappointment!
So mr Schmidt liked our idea, will take it and do a Sinn product with it. Nice, stealing our idea!

I am not a lawyer, but I believe that we/WUS has the intellectual property rights of the LE U concept

Edit: Thinking about it, the whole idea of a unique WUS U LE has now disappeared, it will not be an LE in low numbers anymore. Even if making the first 50 or so unique (maybe with a WUS logo or something different) it will not be "our" LE anymore, but just a variety of the Sinn production.
I am disappointed with mr Schmidt.

·
Registered
149 Posts
I'm not sure if we have any legal standing as for one, this probably falls into the realm of international copyrights/patents (not sure what kind of protection we are afforded) and for another, we don't really have a copyright/patent... Legally, Sinn is clear... Morally.... Meh -> :rodekaart

·
Banned
21,244 Posts
I guess you are right. We did use a Sinn watch to start with. But morally, yep.

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
It may not be that bad if the first 50 can be differentiated and if this keeps the price down.

That being said, this development seems to indicate that Sinn's management is exhibiting some questionable business practices.:rodekaart