WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Am I just a weirdo? I recently bought an Alpina Extreme Diver, the newest orange model and I love this watch so much i'm seriously considering buying another just to have a perfect backup. To me it sounds absurd since its such a nice watch i only wear it on weekends. My day job is manual labor so my Seiko gets the daily use. My Alpina goes into the velvet lined box until the weekend.

In reality i'm very good with my watches. I have a Seiko Sports 100 i bought new in 1984 and with the exception of some scuffs and scratches from a motorcycle accident its in awesome condition. So i say to myself " this is insane...you could barely afford the first one...why do you need a second 'backup'". And i insanely reply to myself..."well you can never be too sure...theft, some unforseen mechanical failure, fire, could fall overboard one day sailing, i could drop it and put a gouge in its perfect case etc..."

Am i alone in my strange obsession or are there others of you that have/do this on occasion? Do i need to seek out a 12 step program or is my mind still healthy?

·
Premium Member
12,813 Posts
Sort of.....I enjoyed my Jazzmaster Viewmatic so much that I purchased a Jazzmaster Seaview.

·
Registered
8,386 Posts
Yes, I bought three of the same. How stupid is that?

·
Premium Member
69,490 Posts
If you bought the same watch in the same colour that could be construed as a bit OTT but the same watch in different dial colours if a different story.

·
Banned
10,075 Posts
Sort of, but my love for the watch isn't why. I bought my son one of the same watches I have for myself. Does that count?

It looks like the member who's post is below is really into Submariner NDs.

and my small collection...

All the best.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
" Yes, I bought three of the same. How stupid is that? "