WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am keen to hear any input on the broader perception of AP in the watch world.

I am a relative newbie to watches, first paying an interest at the back end of last year and subsequently purchasing a PAM 312 within days of discovering the forum - which I am very much enjoying (the watch and the forum).

Since then, despite enjoying it, I have of course started shopping around for my second piece :) once the bug is caught it is hard to shake. I don't necessarily plan to buy something immediately, but am working on my knowledge so I can make an informed decision when the time does come, or if the right watch finds me before I find it then I will know.

I have been doing a lot of reading on AP and the various reviews of the AP Royal Oak (15400 is the model that interests me) versus the PP Nautilus (5711). Without wanting to start another AP RO vs PP Nautilus thread, I was keen to understand how AP are viewed by the WIS population.

There are various articles out there with conflicting views - some view AP as a classic and being at the pinnacle (or near to it) of watch ownership, others stating that the brand has been devalued by its association with various rappers and such like for whom the ROO is a particular favourite.

I like the idea of the 15400, and when factoring in it is near enough half the price of the Nautilus it becomes a very attractive proposition indeed. The PP seems revered by WIS everywhere, but simply speaking I prefer the design of the AP at the age I am as it seems a bit more contemporary/younger, and the fact that PP is seen as a good investment has no bearing on my decision as I am buying the watch to enjoy, not to make money/not lose money.

So AP then - are there negative connotations? Are they highly revered? And how do the AP RO wearers find their watches are received in general? Many thanks :-!

·
Registered
1,362 Posts