WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm basically a newbie in the world of watches. I just started to take interest in it. I came across automatic movements and I was intrigued by the whole idea. I know I should have done some research, but I bought a Steinhausen watch before researching. The stupid me decided to research AFTER I bought the watch only to see negative reviews.

I was wondering if Steinhausen watches are really that bad. I wanted to buy something inexpensive and see if I would really enjoy having an automatic movement watch. I paid $73 with all taxes and shipping included. Did I get ripped off? I feel like I made the worst mistake ever by purchasing this watch. The model which I purchased was the Steinhausen TW8372C. Below is the picture of the watch.

Steinhausen.jpg

I'm planning to sell this watch off or return it and buy a different watch. What would be a solid choice for right around the same price. I really don't want to pass $100 as I don't know if I'll like an automatic movement watch. This is I guess testing the waters. Thanks!!

·
Registered
4,956 Posts
It's a Chinese watch (not the quality ones like Sea-gull) with a German name. I don't think you got ripped off, you got what you pay for in a <$100 watch. But I'd pay more for a quality watch from Seiko or Sea-gull or entry level Swiss.

·
Registered
4,468 Posts
In my personal opinion... yes. That bad. You should be looking at the Seiko 5 collection....

Edit: or Android, or many others that use decent cheap chinese movements.

In fact just go to forum sponsor longislandwatch.com and browse around there... lots to see in your price range.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5