WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know, this question was being asked over and over again. I am totally new to this and I am planning to buy my first automatic what for myself as christmas gift this year.

I had been reading the forum for a while and had some idea that what I can get but I still want to see if there are more option out there. Here is the features that I am looking for:
- Automatic (I want a automatic watch for a while, now I only have quartz watches)
- Chronographs (Not because I need it, it just in general look cooler)
- Better in metal strips but leather is ok too (could wear with dress too)
- some water resistance (I am not a diver but I wear my watch when swimming)

So far, the only watch that I like and within my budget is Tissot. I like the style better with Oris but they are around $1500 or above. I found some Porsche design watch looks really great in gray market about the same price. But for now, I don't want to spent that much for my 1st mech. watch. I also looked into Steinhart, price and style are perfect, almost add to my cart but found that their chronograph watch all have zero water resistance (I don't know why, they don't even recommend you take shower with it...)

Anyway, any suggestion will help.

·
Registered
13,407 Posts
There are auto Hamiltons in that range rated to 100 meters.
Probably going to be hard to find 300 meter auto chronos in that price range.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was looking into Hamilton also. Most of the style may be too classic for my taste. I kind of like the Field King Auto Chrono. 100m is good enough, I am not going to dive with my watch. Both my G-shock and Tag goes 200m but I only swim with them.

·
Registered
5,981 Posts
Hamilton is a good choice and they do offer some sportier models in their Navy catagory. Not sure if they are above your price range though. They wouldn't be if you buy pre-owned, though.

·