WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
522 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy all,

I'm new to german style pilot's watches, but have really fallen for them recently. After doing research into the various alternatives from Stowa, Steinhart, Archimede & Tourby, I've developped a more precise idea of what I'm looking for. The only question is, am I missing anyone? (quite likely)

What I'm looking for is:

• 42mm or under
  • Handwound
  • Display back
  • Second hand would be nice

With those requirements, the Tourby Aviator B3C Decorated fits the bill nicely. But I was wondering if there are any other options out there that satisfy my needs?

Thanks!

·
Registered
647 Posts
I think Junkers, Poljot and Vostok might also do handwound models. I kept coming up with autos like Oris and Sinn as modern interpretations alongside the Stowa, Laco (don't forget them as one of the original 5 manufacturers ;o) ) and Archimede favourites. Just thinking 'out loud'...

·
Registered
304 Posts
I think there is a watch maker in north carolina, wilson watch works? I seem to remember their watches being reasonable, not sure if they use swiss/chinese/other movement. People really like them.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Hi, i think you have all the options. The biggest problem is the central second hand and handwound movement. Stowa has it only in FOLE, LACO don´t offers it, Archimede used Junghas in LE, Steinhart as it LE...

So the only way to obtain Unitas + central now second hand is Tourby, but i think 1800€ is too much.

Or you can search in sales forums and wait if somebody sells his LE (Stowa, Archimede, Steinhart...)

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Man...so many options but for a true pilot it needs to be handwound. :-(

Closest one is Stowa Airman 2801 LE but obviously that's not easy to find.

I'm leaning towards the Stowa no date CSOC, Laco is also nice since it is one of the 5 original makers.)

·
Registered
3,080 Posts