WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Short version: first watch, what should I know about having a mechanical watch vs a battery-powered watch?

Hey guys. Newbie here. First post. About to get my first mechanical watch. I'm a twenty year old electrician, and I never cared for watches until recently when I decided to get a "real" watch. I set off to do some research...

So I found about these amazingly cool thing called moonphase watches from a friend. The discussion revolved around women's menstrual cycles and how people would use moonphase clocks to expect the unexpected from their wives and/or mistresses by offsetting the date and phase to match "that time of the month". As an amateur astronomy geek I said "I'll get one! I can keep track of my girlfriend AND the moon." So I did some googling and found the Sparaneva Korona RG/WG[/url] online. Upon inquiry the site owner told me that the watch is right about 22500 euros, and assured me that there was not supposed to be a dot before the two zeros in the price tag. I was floored.

So after a weird three hour journey of learning about watches I found the more affordable Frederique Constant Slimline Moonphase for around 2900 CAD and I'm ready to purchase the gorgeous blue piece and an additional metal bracelet in case the alligator leather doesn't jive with what I'm wearing. If I'm spending this much on a watch I should at least look good doing it. Right now I'm wearing a Timex Expedition WR100M quarts watch that shows significant signs of wear and has begun to fall apart mostly due to water, chemicals, and cold outdoor working environments. I will probably get another quartz watch for work.