WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, this is my first post in WUS, so greetings to all of you!!

Well, before i start with my concern, I just want to make clear that i'm not a professional watchmaker:-s, but im learning and is pretty fun for me, but theres moment like this one that kills me, and those are the problems with the balance wheel.

Im working with a Caliber 1012 Auto Date, from a cosmic 2000, basically the balance wheel turns for a few seconds and than stop. So here's my few diagnostics i already did.

- Balance Jewel top= Removed, jewel was stock to the cap, clean it and oil it.
- Balance Jewel bottom= removed, and also stock, clean it and oil it.
- Balance Pivots= To my eyes looks fine, but i will post some pics of the bottom pivot, i will try to get to pivot pic to post and see if you guys can see anything out of normal, dont know what else to look since im short in troubleshooting experience.:-s

Mean while the whole movement is in working condition, no damage gear or anything else that will make the balance wheel stop running.

heres a picture of the balance harispring

·
Registered
7,704 Posts
There are many reasons why this could be happening, but probably the first I would start with is that the gear train is delivering power from the mainspring inefficiently. The basic thing you need to do before spending too much more time on diagnosing the problem is to fully disassemble the movement, give everything a good cleaning (best if you have a machine or ultrasonic), reassemble, lubricate and test. You should obviously inspect all parts while reassembling for any defects.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3