WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 151 Posts

·
Registered
2,007 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Often fellow members of this forum post questions and comparisons between watches and many times when a Rolex is involved I feel like I see several posts that the Rolex should be picked "because its a Rolex".....

This answers in my humble opinion seriously falls short. If someone feels that Rolex is the better watch then please explain. Is it the movement, the history, the aesthetics.....just say anything past Its a Rolex.

Do not get me wrong, I am not bashing Rolex, they make amazing watches and have bullet proof pedigree, but when someone gives that answer I feel like a 5 year old just entered an adults discussion.

I am no watch expert but if I choose to include myself in a discussion as such I will give reasoning for which watch I would suggest/recommend....which is often a Rolex.

What gives?

·
Registered
2,637 Posts
The OP is right in that many recommendations lack context, especially when it comes to Rolex. Sometimes it can be valid WIS shorthand for a watch that is well made and retains its value. Sometimes it can mean no more than a "+1" type boost to a post count. But there are many other occasions on which a discussion based on metrics is warranted. Advocating a watch purchase based on name alone is at one end of the simplistic spectrum, just like equating Rolex with pretentiousness is at the other. Here's to raising the level of dialogue based on merits based on facts, however Quixotic that quest may be.

·
Registered
14,909 Posts
Aesthetics, always aesthetics for me and like many watches from many brands, some Rolex models qualify and thus my recommendation(s) . . .

·
Registered
2,825 Posts