WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm new to this message board, and kinda cool to collectible watches. Someone recently gave me a Benrus series 3011 men's watch. I can't seem to find a whole lot about on the internet. I believe it to be a Swiss watch from the early 60's era, maybe 62, from the scant info I can find. There doesn't seem to be a lot of people selling them, and the demand seems to be pretty low. The few I see on ebay I have seen are in the $50-100 range. Is this watch decent? Is it worth anything? It seems to run a pretty slow, and looses about 5 minutes every hour or so when fully wound. Its 20 years older than me, so I'm sure it could use a little clean and lube. That being said, I want to learn how to clean and lube watches myself. I have a Nice Citizen Eco-Drive that needs service, as well as a Seiko Pogue 6139 I really want to take apart and clean, but I know jack squat about watch assembly currently....and I don't want to learn on those. So, I need some practice watches. I want to learn and experiment on some less valuable ones first. Is this one of those watches? Or is this something that someone might actually want for a decent price? How desirable is this watch? It looks reall nice, in great condition with original box, but it keeps time like crap, so it needs work anyways.

Here's a couple pics. Thanks.

benrus1.JPG

benrus2.JPG

in box.JPG

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, it actually looks nicer in person. The pics make it look a little rougher than it is. Its this watch desirable, or worth anything to anyone out there in the general populous? Or is it a good "practice watch" to attempt to service myself as a novice and not fret too much if I break it?

·
Banned
1,186 Posts
It's also very nice to have the original box. So I agree, buy a cheap watch or movement on Ebay and practice on that.