WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 191 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I finally acquired my first G-Shock. A Frogman, (GW-200MS-1) and naturally, since it's a watch that was released in 2009, it's gonna need a bit of a charge. I've got a few questions that some of you gurus out there might know.

What is the best way to charge it without frying it? It obviously wasnt cheap, and I'll kill myself if I ruin it by leavin it in the light...

If I just wear it around all the time, outside, or say, in a well-lit room, will that keep it charged?

And how long will this solar battery last before it kicks it and I'll have to buy a new battery?

Where should I go to replace the battery if need be? (I've heard some bad stories about local repair shops or jewelers)

I know I've got tons of questions, but I'm new to the whole solar battery thing lol.

Thanks

·
Registered
90 Posts
I started with a G9000MS1 Mudman, and now I have a G9300GB Mudman. When I first got the G9300, it was already on High battery. I charged it after I brought it down to Medium after playing around with it. I charged it a couple times before bed under a desk lamp. It takes too long to bring up to High these days. My watch is always under my sleeves when I go out, and I don't have a window sill that gets enough sunlight. So, it's been at medium for about 2 months now. :think:

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
Just leave it somewhere sunny that doesn't get too hot, so not on a car dashboard but maybe a window ledge with the curtains open, for a while. It should say in the manual how long will result in full charge.

My Eco-drives tend to stay on medium forever too; that's actually OK, no big deal as the power reserve on solar watches is huge.

·
Registered
8,522 Posts