WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I got my ceramic bezel insert for my O1B yesterday and went straight to my local watchsmith. He called me a few minutes ago saying that he wasn't able to replace the insert. He said that the he can't get out the old insert and he's afraid that he'll broke the watch. He also said that there should be some kind of ring which isn't.

So I'm asking you: Is replacing the bezel insert really so hard or is my watchsmith incapable?

Thank you.

·
Registered
20,580 Posts
At least he was prudent and honest.

I'm a professional [desk] diver.

Reactions: oshee

·
Registered
399 Posts
Not sure why he can't. Take it back and do it yourself. Maybe he thinks it should just pop out? A lot of people here have had luck heating it; to some degree. And slowly moving it back and forth till they can get it out. It's glued in so you essentially want to heat the glue to pull it out. The bezel doesn't pop off like an skx or something. But heat and using some force, repetitively will work. You can also drill a small hole into the bezel insert itself to get a better for prying it out with a small screw driver. Search this forum and you will find better instructions!

Good luck!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
I did some research and found out that the bezel on Steinhart can't simply be removed, but you actually have to heat it/drill a hole into the insert and then take it out ...

The watchsmith said that it is glued too strong and that he didn't want to break my watch. At least he tried hard:
DSC_0235.JPG

I wasn't happy with that so after reading some articles I decided to replace the insert by myself.

It wasn't so hard as I thought it would have been. I heated the watch, pilled a hole into the bezel and voila, it came off easily.

DSC_0237.JPG

After the bezel insert was replaced, the watch got a new look.

DSC_0238.JPG