WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
972 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys!

My younger brother is turning 18 this August, and so will, as is tradition, get a watch. And as the watch-dude of the family, my parents were nice enough to include me in this decision (I'm rather psyched to help in this process, especially as I can sit researching watches I can't afford at the moment).

My bro is currently wearing a vintage Constellation I gave him as a way-too early birthday gift, and so my thought was that maybe he should get a sweet tool watch he could wear when, well, when a dress watch is out of the question. He plays badminton professionally, and travels like I don't know what.

So,

What I think he should get: a Marathon Gsar, or maybe a Breitling Colt if he wants something a bit more noticeable (it is my understanding that the Colt is tough as knuckles, but I have no first-hand experience and may be wrong here).

My dad's suggestion: Speedmaster, Racing edition.

My brother's requirements: Something that gets noticed but isn't overly flashy.

Budget: Maybe up to 4 k $

Any thoughts, ideas or suggestions are super appreciated. I'm aiming to produce a nice little list for July sometime, to simplify the process for them (and because I think it's mighty fun).

Thanks!

·
Registered
688 Posts
I'd go with either a used 5 digit serial DJ, or a newer but still used Oyster Perpetual 36. Classic, tool-esque, nice but not flashy and right around $4k.

·
Registered
158 Posts
If he travels, why not go for a GMT? That is one complication that may actually see some use.
I’ll second this. I have a Breitling Avenger II GMT and love it. Pressure test to 300m, low profile, and works great with any outfit - casual and formal. Plus to boot, it’s super easy to change from bracelet to leather to nato.

My wrist is 7.5” and the Avenger wears better than any other watch I own.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
972 Posts
Discussion Starter #6