WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,

Newbie here seeking a little advice on my first TAG purchase. After some research and visiting my local AD a couple times, I think I am set on purchasing the WAT2010.BA0951:
wat2010ba0951.jpg

I have been trying to find the model with Roman numerals on the bezel but it seems to be discontinued and impossible to find. The best the AD could do was 15% off retail which is still about $500 more than Jomashop. I am still trying to outweigh the pro's and cons of AD vs GM. Anyways, tonight my AD, told me that I should try and make a decision soon because they do prices changes twice a year and that things will probably go up. Is that true? I feel that she was just trying to push the sale considering its last years model. I just cant see this watches price going up with new models coming out this year. Anyways, any advice on this watch or any in regards to purchasing my first TAG would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
1,841 Posts
Hi there,

TAG prices are indeed going up twice a year, usually in March and September.
Normally, discontinued models stay at the same price or go down a little and new models go up.
15% discount on a discontinued model is a bit low, they should be able to give you some more discount.

As for AD vs GM: like every other matter of security/guarantee, it's a about taking your chances.
If you are going to use this particular watch for normal daily use (as a dress watch), I would rather go to a GM and save some money.
Maybe you can ask your AD to meet you half way on the GM price?

As for advice on this watch: I have the "old" Link Chrono Calibre 16 auto, and it's a great watch. The quality and fit of the Link bracelet is perfect,
I have never owned a more comfortable watch. Although I haven't tried on the new model, I guess it's also a pleasure to wear.