WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all,

Bear with me, i'm totally new to the world of watches.

I'm buying my first (proper) watch soon, or rather having one given as a present for my 30th birthday.

I really like the look of the Oris Big Crown Pointer Date (silver braclet, gold detail).

I'd like to know if this is a sensible watch to choose? I'd like a reliable mechanical watch that will last a lifetime of reasonable daily wear. Obviously i'll take it off for any extreme activities i might be planning.

I've seen it mentioned that this watch doesn't have a screw down crown, and you need to be careful as a result. what does this mean? is it not robust, waterproof etc.?

Will it be OK in rain? I cycle a lot, so what about vibrations affecting the mechanics? I won't wear it Mountain Biking, just general commuting.

If this wouldn't suit, can anyone suggest a similar looking watch that would be suitable for daily wear and not just used as a dress watch.

Thank you all in advance.

·
1,263 Posts
Good choice with the Big Crown Pointer - that watch looks good with jeans or a suit - very versatile.

The screwdown crown helps with water resistance. With no screwdown crown, I would avoid any swimming, showering, etc. A little rain shouldn't hurt it.

I would not recommend any biking - mountain or otherwise. For one, it will get sweaty and dirty. And constant vibrations may hurt the movement. They have built in shock protection, but why push it? Daily commute shouldn't be too bad. But any recreational, long-range stuff I would recommend something like a Timex Triathalon.

That watch is very reliable and should last a lifetime with reasonable wear and usual service (every 5 years or so with daily wear). The ETA/Selitta movements are tried and true, very reliable, and can be serviced just about anywhere.