WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,015 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I have been toying with the idea of stepping away from my iPhone, and wanted to start using my Canon T7i to take better quality watch photos. My question is, what would be a versatile lens to invest in for general watch photography? Every time I break out my Canon with the 18-55 kit lens, I become frustrated trying to dial in the focus. I often gravitate back to using my iPhone for a quick wrist shot and have put the Canon aside for hiking and outdoor photography.

I see amazing pictures on blogs/Instagram with watches alongside different items (leather boots, straps, denim, books, etc.) and would like to draw inspiration from these shots. Below are two pics taken from W&W and Hodinkee articles...this is the style that I'm looking for. What lens would make it easier to take these type of shots? I am new to watch photography, so any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
1 Posts
Check out the Sigma Art line of lenses, they're often optically superior to Canon but their autofocus can be lacking (not a big deal if you're shooting still life stuff like your examples though).

The 70mm Macro might be a good fit for oyu

·
Registered
1,015 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies! I will take a look at the Sigma Art line of lenses. The Canon 18-135mm also sounds appealing because it adds some versatility, although I may have to flip my kit lens to prevent redundancy. Is the Canon 18-135mm noticeably better than the 18-55mm optically?

·
Registered
3,298 Posts