WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,918 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Oris lovers,

I'm new to the Oris forum but not new to WUS. I've owned most brands and finally purchased my first Oris. I started looking for a TT1 chrono with the red/black bezel, but once I laid eyes on the Carlos Coste, I couldn't look back. The orange accents, orange lume, left side crown and pushers, all things I love. I received the watch about 3 days ago and it hasn't left my wrist.

I was very disappointed with the lack of photos of this watch online, especially from buyers. It was almost impossible to find a wrist shot or close-ups of this watch.

My initial impressions are terrific. I was very nervous about the size. I usually prefer 42-44mm watches, so the 47mm stated size was of concern. As soon as I opened the divers helmet watch box, I knew my fears were unfounded. The Carlos Coste has the "presence" of a 44mm watch, as the bezel is only 44mm from edge to edge. The flared case adds to the size on paper, but doesn't really make the watch wear like a 47mm watch. I was pleasantly surprised. I am also very happy with the comfort. The left side crown and pushers don't dig into the wrist, and the tall caseback allow the watch to rock with your wrist as it bends, so it never binds in the crook of the wrist. Due to the titanium, the weight is perfect, heavy enough to know you have a substantial watch on your wrist, but light enough to be comfortable.

The bracelet is very high quality, and uses pins and collars between links. This is the most finicky type to adjust, but also the most secure once adjusted. They will never come loose or fall out by accident like a screwed link can. The clasp is basic, and in my opinion does not match the quality of the rest of the watch. Adequate is all I can say about the clasp, maybe a bit "tinny" (I have the same complaint with Fortis watches)