WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Howdy,

Let me start off by saying I’m new to watch collecting and more importantly new around here. So if I have started this thread in the wrong place or should have posted this elsewhere please forgive or redirect me.

i recently purchased a vtg Wittnauer 4000 diver that seems in relatively tip top shape lest some rather nasty scratches on one of the lugs presumably from bad watch band swapping.

The lugs are brushes finish as is the rest of the top of the case (minus the polished bezel).

is it worth my while (and money) to try to get it fixed?

Attachments

·
Registered
5,020 Posts
Re: Case scratches

Most vintage collectors expect things like that and the case being original with sharp clean edges is more important.

The hand lume is more a concern....

Sent from my SM-G920R4 using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
6,664 Posts

That's a nice watch and the edges of the lugs are still extremely sharp which means that the case is unpolished, which is very desirable and uncommon. My advice would be to live with it for some time and see if it still bothers you. Often I am initially bothered by imperfections, but after a few weeks they no longer bother me.

If you polish the case to remove those scratches and in the process the sharp edge of the lug becomes rounded, you will have lost one of the features that makes your watch particularly good. Removing the scratches in a way that preserves the sharpness of the edge is not trivial, and requires special skills. Most jewelers or watchmakers you ask to remove the scratches will just polish it using a buffing wheel, which would be disastrous from the perspective of collectibility.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #5