WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I've noticed that generally watches over $200 or so with quartz movements are frowned upon on these forums, but I'm really taken with the look of the Chase-Durer Strike Force GMT watch. I've not heard of this company before, and even a search of these forums didn't turn up much. Does anyone have any experience with Chase-Durer or that watch in particular? Also, it is listed at 45mm diameter, and as a watch newbie I'm finding it tough to picture whether that might be too big for my 7.5" wrist. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
11,276 Posts
Chase-Durer watches are frequently considered "poser watches", IMHO.

I am sure others can chime in.

Having said that, I am not at all disinclined to expensive quartz watches ... watchuseeks even has its own Hi-end Quartz watch forum. ;-)

S

·
0 Posts
Chase-Durer watches are frequently considered "poser watches", IMHO.

I am sure others can chime in.

Having said that, I am not at all disinclined to expensive quartz watches ... watchuseeks even has its own Hi-end Quartz watch forum. ;-)

Don´t think they qualify for "Hi-end Quartz". Visited the CD booth at Basel some years ago. Wasn´t impressed.

·
Registered
11,276 Posts
Don´t think they qualify for "Hi-end Quartz". Visited the CD booth at Basel some years ago. Wasn´t impressed.
Correct, Mike. When I was expressing a weakness for hi-end quartz watches, I wasn't thinking of Chase-Durer at all, but more along the lines of thermocompensated quartz movements. I just wanted to put the following quote in perspective:

I've noticed that generally watches over $200 or so with quartz movements are frowned upon on these forums

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
Opposed to quartz movements, no.

Opposed to Chase-Durer, yes.

Mike W.

V

·
0 Posts