WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I am a fan of Citizen watches and own several; I recently acquired a Citizen watch with the H610 module, my first w/ radio control capability..

I seem to be having difficulties with receiving the timekeeping radio signal (i get the 'no' indicator when i try to initiate on-demand reception) and am located in the northeast not far from NYC. I was wondering what others' experience may be as far as reception (particularly in the above geographic area); am I far enough away from the originating signal in Colorado where this could be an ongoing issue? Would appreciate any tips, feedback...

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
42 Posts
Hi impar,

Unfortunately I have no experience whatsoever with reception conditions in the US. I have noticed though that my H610 watch is very particular about the placement of the antenna (in my watch located at three o'clock). If I place the watch in a window facing the general direction of the radio tower (circa 1500 km or 950 miles from my place) it only syncs if the antenna also points in this direction.

When you are as far away from the radio tower as you are local conditions get more important. Can you try another watch or even a radio clock? My cheapo weather stations synchs reliably even during day time with an antenna facing the wrong direction, but of course the receiver has a much bigger antenna encased in plastic, not metal.

·
Registered
470 Posts
In my experience (Boston area), you will never get daytime reception this far east. OTOH, my Skyhawk AT gets superior reception at night on auto sync. Reception will vary depending on what kind of structure you live in, though.

·
Banned
5,606 Posts
I don't yet have a Citizen AT H610, but currently own a German made Radio Controlled Junghans Mega 1000 watch: