WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help!

I was recently given a huge number of foreign and old coins that I have no idea what to do with. I know that most likely there aren't any gems hidden in there but upon a very surface inspection of the lot, it seems that most of the coins are worth something (Maybe $1 to $5) There are a huge number of coins in this jar so I assume the lot is worth something. Could be $100 could be $1000 worth of coins in this jar. Is it worth taking them to a shop and have them appraised? What would that cost? Should I take them to a bank? Is it realistic that I could do it by myself even though I have no knowledge or coins and there are a huge number of them?

Thanks for any input!

·
Registered
23 Posts
For starters, US coins 1964 and earlier (dimes, quarters, half dollars and dollars) are silver so have quite a bit of value right there. Earlier foreign coins were also silver but you’d have to look them up on the web. If they are all circulated, they won’t have much value unless they are key dates. But starting with silver is one way to get an idea.

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you,
I'll start to dig through my collection to see if there might be anything of value. Is there a website or service that I could use to find out the value of the coins as I start to dig through them?

·
Registered
239 Posts
You can usually google some of the words on the coins, if any, and get results. I had a bunch of old coins I inherited and that is what I did. I was able to find numerous sources just from gooogling the words + the word coin.

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You can usually google some of the words on the coins, if any, and get results. I had a bunch of old coins I inherited and that is what I did. I was able to find numerous sources just from gooogling the words + the word coin.