WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i'm currently in the market for a nice Submariner watch, I guess you could call them a 'homage' as I can't afford the likes of Rolex/Tag etc!

I've been looking around in lots of places for watches, a few people recommended a Seiko so I was having a look for possibly a nice condition second hand one on eBay and came across these! (apologies if i'm not allowed to share eBay links)

It says modded, I've read the description but i'm no expert.. Is the movement decent, is it going to be a good watch for the money? Obviously it's an auction so not sure what it'll end up going for but would it be a decent purchase is what i'm trying to find out, or do I pay a little bit more and get something from a branded website properly.

Cheers

·
Registered
31,442 Posts
As it is hand built from parts you will get no warranty, my advice is buy a Seiko diver from a dealer and get the safety of a guarantee.

The NH35 is a reliable “Workhorse” movement, and if regulated will give reasonable deviation.

Seikos are available everywhere in the U.K so that would be the way to go IMO.

·
Premium Member
532 Posts
I think Long Island Watch has a custom watch builder where you can customize a seiko to look like a submariner. They look good and from what I hear, they are a good company. Little pricier, around $500USD if I remember correctly.

·
Registered
4,856 Posts
I would spend some time around those bsht guys, nobody knows more about sub homages. You can see a ton of photos and of all the people on this forum they will jump through hoops to help you find what you want.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
8,038 Posts
There are some extremely talented 'modders' that display their wares on Instagram.

Have a look on there as part of your research before you make up your mind.

As you appear to be UK based, I'd second the Steeldive suggestion from @BikerJeff

·
Registered