WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am relatively new to the watch world (or at least WUS) and today I spent nearly two hours between my two local ADs in the Pittsburgh area trying on probably close to third watches and handling many more. Before you ask, no I did not buy one of them today. Today was strictly figuring out what I want to purchase and from where. Today, I spent time with . . .

Rolex Explorer II
Tudor Grantour
Tudor Pelagos
Tudor Black Bay
Breitling Colt
Breitling Superocean
Breitling Superocean Heritage 42mm
Omega Speedmaster
Omega Aqua Terra
Bell and Ross 123 GMT 24H

Here are a few surprising findings:

1. My wrist sucks for larger watches. Yup, seems like 42mm is the perfect size for my 6.75 wrist. Actually, it came down to the lug length on most pieces. I prefer curved, shorter lugs.

2. Breitling made the best bracelets and straps and felt the most substantial. I had never handled one before and I walked away wanting a Superocean Heritage 42mm the most.

3. Bell and Ross makes some really nice watches and I could see my next purchase being the 123 GMT 24H.

4. Omega left me wanting more. I can't say I was overly impressed with the look or feel. Not saying they are not quality pieces. I just can't put my finger on what I was disappointed by. Maybe because they didn't fit the way I was hoping.

5. I thought the Longines was the best bang for the buck in the bunch. Bracelet wasn't great but was definitely better than average. Great tool watch that can dress up or down.

6. Tudor had some great looking watches but they didn't fit right. Sad because I thought the Grantour was going to be a must have. Same goes for the BB.

7. And finally, the Rolex. Eh. It was okay. Maybe I am not a good judge of character or maybe I am just a dingbat, but the Rolex did nothing for me. Still, I highly respect the brand, quality, and reputation.