WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently acquired this Timex Model 63 quartz complete with box and papers. It's a great looking watch in great shape...but it won't run.

I installed a 303/374 cell, but no luck. I'm certainly no expert, but I don't see any obvious problems like broken connections.

I love the watch, but I can't justify spending a lot of money to fix it (presuming it's reparable).

Does anybody see any obvious problems with the movement? Are there any steps I can take to rule out simple problems? I've done some simple watch repairs myself, but I have zero experience with this kind of movement.

Capture.jpg

Capture2.jpg

·
Registered
2,754 Posts
No experience with that particular Timex, but some experience with early electrics. I'd first check the balance and geartrain by giving it a twist back and forth to set the balance in motion and seeing if the seconds hand advances. Would also check if the hands move freely when setting.

Then I'd try to visually check if the battery's -ve terminal was shorting against the mainplate when installed. It should only touch the center brass terminal. In the past, I've used scotch tape with a small hole punched through as a temporary insulator for checking. Once again I'd try the jumpstart on the balance and see if that works.

From there, I'd probably finally cave in a buy a multimeter and start checking voltages.

I'm just a hobbyist with a small collection, but these are the procedures I've used to see if a movement is worth saving when I get it.

In case you haven't heard of this resource:
Timex Model 62 Series - Electric Watches
If you're feeling really brave, halfway down the page he mentions that if you remove the circuit board and jumper the posts together, it will function as a pre-quartz Model 40 movement.

·
Registered
5,889 Posts