WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to this whole watch thing and I'm looking to buy my first "nice watch." I have a humble budget of less than $500, but from reading the forum posts, it looks like there are some good options around. The watches that have really caught my eye so far are the Victorinox Swiss Army Classic Chrono (red face w/black dials), Debaufre Ocean-1 and GMT Ocean-1 (they told me they can put the red & black bezel on either model), and Invicta 9403.

As you can probably tell, I like the black & red look (I'll try to attach the pictures below). Does anyone know of benefits/drawbacks of these different models? I have already heard about the customer service and quality issues with Invicta, but their watches are so much cheaper than other brands. If you have suggestions of other watches, please let me know.

Also, if anyone has any info on the Victorinox Classic Chrono, I would appreciate hearing opinions because I can't seem to find any reviews of the watch.

Thanks, Tim

Attachments

·
Registered
737 Posts
A budget of $500 isn't "humble" at all - you can buy some very nice watches in that range.

I have a Steinhart Mach 1 (Debaufre was Steinhart) and I'd say it even compares quite favorably with a Rolex! :-! Someone else should be able to give you some insights on your other choices. Good hunting!:)

·
Registered
246 Posts
From everything I've heard, I would go with Debaufre. Invicta is a very mass-market brand and although many people are happy with their Invicta watches, that brand tends to have more issues with quality control and are generally considred sub-par in that area. Victorinox is probably somewhere in between but I'm not as familiar with them.

·
Registered
1,571 Posts