WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am a novice watch enthusiast and have lately become interested in Soviet era Russian watches. Several of the watches I have purchased (or, am considering purchasing) on ebay are described by caliber, or, in the description as being 17 jewel, or, manual winding for example, but the dial indicates 31 jewel or self-winding. Have these watches been rebuilt? Is the mismatch a red flag (no pun intended) or is it common to find Vostok watches that are assembled from various parts not matching the original? How is such a watch dated? By the movement/caliber or by the case?

Thoughts and advice appreciated.

-Kokomodo

·
Registered
3,791 Posts
Hi,

I am a novice watch enthusiast and have lately become interested in Soviet era Russian watches. Several of the watches I have purchased (or, am considering purchasing) on ebay are described by caliber, or, in the description as being 17 jewel, or, manual winding for example, but the dial indicates 31 jewel or self-winding. Have these watches been rebuilt? Is the mismatch a red flag (no pun intended) or is it common to find Vostok watches that are assembled from various parts not matching the original? How is such a watch dated? By the movement/caliber or by the case?

Thoughts and advice appreciated.

-Kokomodo
Anytime you notice a mismatch like that usually indicates a parts- bin watch.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Anytime you notice a mismatch like that usually indicates a parts- bin watch.
So, if an ad claims "100% Original" but has a mismatch, does that mean that all of the parts are original parts, or is the ad disingenuous?

·
Registered
1,311 Posts
So, if an ad claims "100% Original" but has a mismatch, does that mean that all of the parts are original parts, or is the ad disingenuous?