WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
OK, Im not really sure where this post is going, Im just putting a few thoughts together from a complete newbie’s point of view.

Im roughly 3 weeks into my watch collecting career and feel like Im slowly drowning in information.
I decided I wanted a new watch, and that I wanted it to be a relatively nice one. Im not generally a watch wearer. , Im so new at this.
So I found this place and spent some time reading up and that is where some of the trouble started
I found out about quartz vs automatic vs hand wind watches
Movements – don’t get me started, Swiss, Japanese, Chinese, I gave up trying to rank them against each other
Watch Styles – there are just so many, but this is the easy bit, you either like it as soon as you see it or you don’t
Different manufacturers, so many all with their supporters and detractors

I saw all the super expensive watches which was a bad idea as it made me feel poor, and strangely enough, I have yet to see one Seiko that I like, and I absolutely hate Rolex watches, at least all the ones that I have seen so far. One of the problems with places like this is that you can get sucked in, and end up upscaling requirements to match what you are seeing other people do or saying, if it doesn't cost 2K then it isn't a proper watch etc etc..
Some luxury watches I like, but the thing I don’t like about them is that anyone with a bit of cash can have one, so Im guessing that my initial searches will be for little independent watch makers – at least to start my collection.

So I have chosen my first daily wear watch, it will be a Gerlach N97, so automatic, not quartz, independent maker and I like the style, and a limited edition, so Im not likely to see anybody else wear it.
I like limited edition as I hope (eventually) that there might be a small chance something I own will appreciate in value.