WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I am about join the club with my first Oris. I noticed the Aquis 6 years ago when I was a student and that type of luxury was a "one day" dream. Well, the "day" has come and even though I can now afford my Aquis, it will still represent a major purchase for me. The watch I have chosen is the Aquis Carlos Coste IV with the Ti bracelet. So, I have a couple of questions from those in the know about what to expect with a timepiece of this caliber.

• Barring no major issues, how much can I expect to spend keeping my Aquis serviced?
  • Are there any negatives to going with Ti over stainless?
  • How do you think a 46mm case will look as the years go on?
  • How durable are the ceramic bezel inserts?
  • Anything else you think a first-time buyer should know?
That mainly covers it, I think part of me is looking for confirmation before dropping that much money.

I truly appreciate any input you may have and thank you for your time.

·
Registered
2,941 Posts
That movement should be easy an economical to service, but that 46mm size probably won't age well, unless you're a large guy.

38-42 mm is going to be the sweet spot for watch sizes long term (IMO, of course). I'd be surprised if those really large watches are still the norm in 10 years.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I had my Ti Carlos Coste for a few month. I like it Ti as it is lighter than SS. No major issues observed. The only negative is that at the bottom of the watch, the pictogram is getting a little scuffed.
If you want to change the bracelet yourself, get a set of jeweler's screw drivers. When putting bracelet screws back in, apply a small dab of light weight loctite to make sure the screw stays in.

·
Premium Member
60,727 Posts