WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to antique watches and i just purchased an Elgin watch from 1916. It has 15 Jewels and runs and keeps good time. ( According to service/watchmaker at store NOT eBay ) Just wondering what your folks thoughts are on them. Bad buy good buy let me know. Any help is greatly appreciated !
43411_01.jpg 43411.jpg 43411_02.jpg

·
Premium Member
6,664 Posts
From pocketwatchdatabase.com

Grade: 315
Manufacturer:Elgin
Manufacturer Location:Elgin, Illinois
Movement Serial Number:18964944
Grade:315
Model:3
Class:114
Estimated Production Year:1916
Run Quantity:2,000
Total Production:1,022,900
Size:12s
Jewels:15j
Jewel Setting:Screw-Set
Movement Configuration:Openface
Movement Finish:Nickel
Movement Setting:Pendant
Plate:3/4 Plate
Double Roller:Yes
Barrel:Going
Balance Type:Expansion
Balance Jewel Material:Ruby
Train:Quick
Regulator:Moseley
Hairspring:Breguet
Standard Dial Type:Single-Sunk
Adjusted:No
Railroad Grade:No
U.S. Patents:596407
Data Research:c.1950 Elgin Serial List

·
Premium Member
5,859 Posts
Beautiful watch!

I’m thinking about adding a vintage pocket watch to my collection. I’m just afraid of starting a new addiction .

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,025 Posts
If it's been serviced, and it's running well, and that's a gold filled case, then it's an okay buy. You won't make any money flipping it, but you'll get years of service from it. Elgin sold A LOT of 12s 15j watches in the early 20th Century, because they work, and they're reliable.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #12