WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start off with this.

My grandfather was a Rolex guy; my dad preferred Omega. My fondest memory of my grandfather was when I was a kid, he would
let me wear his 18kt all gold Day-Date President around the house. I was quite huge for my age. At 7 years old, I had a 7" wrist.
I wore it proudly and it came with a certain stomping of feet similar to a soldier on his rounds. My gramps was amused, but my grammy wasn't.
Who in his/her right mind would let a kid wear a luxury watch and toy around with it. Crazy. He sold it to his son, my uncle, for pennies as an heirloom.

My gramps was a well-known man in my home country. He retired at age 40 - just when most people are advancing in their careers, he called it a day.
He was the man I looked up to.

Last year, I graduated university with a bachelors degree in engineering. I've always had that watch itch. I've always looked back at those days when I felt a sense of
accomplishment, a sort of prestige, and a milestone in one's life - owning that great watch. Taking up engineering, I was always fascinated with the
watch's mechanics and its history. I've developed a love for the Omega Speedmaster Professional - the so called "Moonwatch."
How great was it that man's thinking put him on the moon? I had to have one.

I picked up a 3572.50 (Speedy Pro with Hesalite crystal, sapphire display case-back). I said I was done. I had something that arguably had the most history attached to it.

Here's the thing...

A week after owning it, the Rolex itch is still there. It was eating me from the inside. From my very childhood, up to this day.

I decided to continue the search. Just watching forums and reading about the brand.

I said, well, I really can't afford it. Maybe when I turn 30.