WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
549 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to this forum and I'm new to the whole watch collecting hobby! I'd like to buy a mechanical automatic skeleton watch, and have short listed the Epos Emotion 3336 and the Oris Artelier Skeleton. Whichever I end up buying I'll take with the metal bracelet not the leather one.

More Epos Emotion 3336 photos. Close up photo of the back. Unusual bracelet closure system.

Close up of the Oris watch face.

As I see it the pros for the Epos are:
  • The ETA 2892-A2 movement (Oris has SW 200)
  • Vintage mixed with modern style (Roman numerals and old style crown on a watch with that unusually decorated bracelet and bracelet closure system, and sharp silver two tone polished/brushed style)
The pros fo the Oris are:
  • The Oris brand name seems much more known/recognizable (as compared to Epos)
  • I like the dial with just markings (no numbers)
Which one do you suggest I go for, and why? Also do you suggest any alternatives?

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
4,620 Posts
Wow, tough choice! Both really nice watches. I sort of like the Epos because of the Roman numerals, having taken 6 years of Latin in school ;-)

Plus, I think the Epos name maybe not being as well known as Oris is a plus for me.

But not sure about that bracelet, it looks like it's designed with the hidden clasp so that when it is closed, it will look like a solid bracelet all the way around. That may be cool or not, can't tell.

Good luck - either way, post pics when you get one!

·
Registered
37,143 Posts
Tough choice indeed but I'm a fan of Oris so I'd get that one, and I'd keep the strap on it, classier look and seems more appropriate IMO. Good luck! :-!

·
Registered
3,253 Posts