WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey Guys,

As I'm sure you've already gleaned from the title of this post, I'm a novice in the world of horology, and specifically, in the world of manual watches. I just received my first manual: a Hamilton Khaki Field Green Dial (HML-H69419363). I wound it for the first time, out of the box, yesterday, until I felt some tension/resistance on the crown, and not past that. This must not have been enough rotations, as this morning, the watch stopped (at approximately 4 AM). I wound it again, this time through some tension/resistance on the crown. My question is whether one should stop winding when he feels this resistance, or wind through the resistance until the crown completely stops. Obviously, I'm proceeding cautiously, as I do not want to damage the main spring. As usual, your insights and tips will be greatly appreciated.

Thank You!

·
Registered
23,771 Posts
Wind gently till you feel total resistance, then stop.

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, Ray. So wind until the crown will not move anymore without the use of a lot of force or pliers?

·
Banned
7,819 Posts
Thanks, Ray. So wind until the crown will not move anymore without the use of a lot of force or pliers?
lol - Don't take pliers anywhere near your watch!!

Gentle winding with tips of finger and thumb and stopping as soon as you feel a resistance, won't get you into too much trouble :)

You will feel a gentle increase in resistance as you wind the watch up, but there will be a definite stop you will reach - this is when you stop

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter #5