WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3,319 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been looking for a Heuer "Manhattan" Chronosplit for ages now and after searching around the net I saw an advert for a mint condition example on Chrono24.

I contacted the seller (a German company called Chronopark), simply asking whether the watch was still for sale and if the price was firm (the advert said open to offers). I received a swift reply the next morning stating that the watch was still for sale and that although the price had been discounted they could offer another small reduction. All good there but then the email went onto say that they only accept bank transfers (no Paypal or Credit Cards). As I work in IT security I always like to pay by some form of secure payment so I replied asking if I could pay via Paypal if I paid for the fees (a reasonable request I would've thought).

I then received a reply this morning stating:

"We only accept bank to bank payment or personally in our shop.
If you don`t have the right feeling for the watch .. sorry but it`s better for you to buy another watch.

If you want to buy the watch please let me know."

I don't know whether something has got lost in translation but I cant imagine that they sell many watches with responses like this! They seem to sell a large number of high end watches so I thought they would be able to accommodate most payment methods and more importantly have better customer service skills. Anyway sufficed to say I'm not buying the watch :)

Just thought I'd see if anyone else has had a similar experience.

Matt

·
Registered
3,319 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
That's exactly what I thought!

·
Registered
844 Posts
red flag. They either want to dodge German tax authorities or he wants a payment that he can steal without recourse. I wont do bank transfer for anything like that.

·
Registered
12,033 Posts