WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought My first vintage/collectors watch. I had always fancied a tag but after seeing a few in the flesh I decided they werent for me. I love speedy proffessionals but the budget just wasnt there as I am a student and i fancied a watch that had a bit of character and would hopefully last me an age. I fell in love with an omega ranchero and nearly cried when I was just pipped to it at auction it looked pretty original and had just been serviced.

Sadly this left me very impulsive and I bought this... Numbers seem to date it as a 1964? What do you guys think?
It was bought as I like it but I'm not sure if the face is right as most watches of this era seem to be white faced.

Can anybody tell me any more about it and any advice for keeping it in time and in good condition as I'm new to all this: Thanks guys :) DSCF8751_resize.jpg DSCF8749_resize-1.jpg
DSCF8743_resize-1.jpg

·
Registered
1,217 Posts
First, welcome! You'll find that WUS is highly addicting, and you watch collection will most likely grow with the more time you spend here.

Beautiful watch! Is the crown signed (the omega logo on it)? If your research indicates that it's from 1964, it's most likely correct, as Omega kept meticulous records. Tissot, on the other hand, was a bit tougher to look up when I got my first vintage piece, but I digress...

I wouldn't worry about the black dial, as there is some variety with many pieces of the day. The best thing you can do is to take it to a reputable watchmaker and have him/her check it out and clean & oil it. That way you can ensure it'll work for years to come. Depending on what it needs done and the watchmaker, you may be looking at another $100-200 for service, but it'll be worth every cent.

Where did you procure it, if I may ask?

·
Registered
10,556 Posts