WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon Guys,

This is my first forray into the world of watches, so be gentle!

I currently have a fairly cheap Citizen eco-drive, which I bought just before heading off to Uni. I graduated a few years ago now, so I actually have money to spend rather than scrimping.

And so I've resolved to buy myself a nice new watch. Nothing outrageous, up to £400.

I'm looking for a watch with a fairly clean face, either black(PVD)/titanium, not decided on a movement type. I like the idea of an automatic, but am concerned about the timekeeping aspect (10s/day seems like a lot of time). I like the idea of quartz for accuracy, but am concerned about battery life...

So my two choices so far are:

MTM Blackhawk (possibly in titanium)

+ves
- Quartz, keeps time well
- Rechargeable, so no swapping battery
- Backlight/flashlight functionality
- I can take out/add links myself

-ves
- More expensive
- Has stupid "I'm in a special ops unit, honest guv" pasted all over the face

Traser Classic Pro

+ves
- Automatic, so "nicer" from a watch lovers point of view
- H3, which is nice
- cheaper

-ves
- Automatic, may lose a reasonable amount of time
- H3 will run down (12 year h/l?)

So my questions are:

1) Who has one/other of them and what do you think?
2) The Traser has an ETA 2824-2 movement, does anyone know what grade they use and what the timekeeping is like?
3) Are there some others which I should consider in this price bracket?

·
Registered
11,276 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum, John!

I don't think battery change intervals should be a problem ... for one thing, re-chargeable batteries won't last forever, either, and for decent functionality, the seals need annual checking and replacement every few years anyway.

If you pick a lithium-battery powered quartz Traser or Luminox model, for example, you are set for up to ten years.

The H3 vials are a huge advantage, IMHO. :)

·