WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to purchase my first Omega watch, and have pretty much singled it down to a Planet Ocean.

It's just a case of choosing the dial combo and size now.

I'm planning to buy from w ww.iconicwatches.co.uk as the savings are very tempting. I understand they are a grey market dealer, but I've been assured that all their watches are sourced from ADs (I'm assuming somewhere in Europe). If anyone has used them and has any feedback they could share, that would be helpful.

Since this is my first time buying an Omega, what should I look for out of the box, ie. what sort of papers/documents should I look out for, and serial numbers should I match?

I'm not a bracelet type of person, but if I could save £80, should I buy it on the rubber instead if the bracelet?

Cheers

·
Registered
66 Posts
I can't speak to whether Icon is good or not. I would suggest you do a search for "Planet Ocean unboxing," that will give you plenty of info re contents of package. If it were my choice, I would purchase the bracelet version, the bracelets for Omega watches are expensive and straps are less so, especially for the price difference you mention. The serial number on the watch ought to match the cards that are in the box-set.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Thanks for your replies.
So they have been discontinued by Omega then and only available from the above site?

·
Registered
176 Posts
definitely get the bracelet at point of sale and buy any straps later. It will be much less expensive and better resale down the road. If you're already going grey market, you might also want to check out some individual dealers selling new watches on the forums, many of which come with factory warranty. Personally, I'd trust an individual with excellent references over an online gray market dealer.

·
Registered
422 Posts