WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone!

I'm new to the forum and relatively new to the world of vintage watches, as I've been researching them for a few months now but have yet to make my first purchase.
I'll be keeping my first purchase fairly small, but I wanted to see what you guys think of one of my potential selections.

Here is the watch I'm looking at presently: 1957 Bulova, Automatic

Could I get some of your impressions on the watch? How does the condition look? Should I be concerned about the "marbled" aging of the dial?
It looks good to me, but I don't have the eye for details like over-polishing (of which I personally can see none).

Also, if anyone can identify the watch, that would be amazing! I checked on MyBulova.com, but can't seem to find this model.

Many thanks, in advance! :-!

·
Registered
13,428 Posts
Hi and welcome
That is an OK looking watch, and in my opinion all 100% original and correct.
I love the 'B' inscribed on the rotor
Yes that is an OK buy if you like it

·
Registered
160 Posts
Hi and welcome
That is an OK looking watch, and in my opinion all 100% original and correct.
I love the 'B' inscribed on the rotor
Yes that is an OK buy if you like it
I thought it looked like the hour markers at 3, 5, 7, and 11 weren't aligned properly with the painted minute markings on either side of them, but I may just be bringing Omega redial phobia along when it shouldn't be there. Otherwise it is a really nice Bulova automatic.

Edit: after taking a closer look, the crosshair on the dial is perfectly aligned, so maybe i'm just seeing things...

·
Registered
1,703 Posts
The price seems a little steep to me but that is probable an uncommon model. I believe it is a Bulova Argonaut. Look on the MyBulova ads from the 50s and do a CTRL+F for Argonaut and it is in the lower right of the picture. I cant upload pictures from my laptop for some reason.

·
Registered
13,428 Posts